Options

Losing hope

finneyjabrahamfinneyjabraham Member Posts: 37 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hey guys,

I recently moved to Philly from Toronto on a contract position. Seeing that there was no hopes for growth or opportunity, I'm trying to apply to new jobs. I have this desire to get into SCCM admin type roles and work on desktop imaging. But I have no experience or way to get into such opportunities. What am I doing wrong? I'm almost at a point were I will just take a level 1 support position and give up.
Finney Abraham

2014 Goal
WGU BS-Network Administration [ ]
CCNA [X] CCDA [ ] MCSA [X] Project+ [X] Storage+ [ ]

Comments

• Options
    blatiniblatini Member Posts: 285
    I have had a similar issue with networking. Despite having my CCNA nobody really wants to hire someone for a networking position without any work experience. Best plan of attack is to just do the best job you can where you are and try to learn from coworkers. Offer to help them do the menial parts of their job and hopefully get more responsibilities.
  • Options
    Jon_CiscoJon_Cisco Member Posts: 1,772 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I will be looking for a new job next year and will face similar problems. I don't yet know how I am going to break into the IT and possibly networking field but I know persistence is part of the equation.

Start by doing the best you can at what you are currently doing. Learn everything you can and keep trying.

Good Luck!
  • Options
    arrogantbastardarrogantbastard Member Posts: 61 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I'm fortunate enough to have over four years of networking experience from being in the military, that's one route. Otherwise I see everyone saying take whatever entry experience you can swing... help desk etc. Unfortunately while a CCNA and some experience can land you a very nice job, a CCNA and no experience can leave you frustrated and lost if you don't catch a break.
  • Options
    finneyjabrahamfinneyjabraham Member Posts: 37 ■■■□□□□□□□