Options

My new job is not what I expected...

New2ITinCaliNew2ITinCali Member Posts: 184 ■■■□□□□□□□
I thought I would be working help desk, but this is definitely not a help desk job. I think it's more networking. I get tickets assigned to me and I have to go out and analyze and evaluate the problems. I actually got the internet up and running again after it went out for a small building.. about 20 people. I do a lot of tracing cables, making ports live and troubleshooting a host of problems. I spend a good amount of time in IDF roons. I'm so busy I don't even have time to take a lunch on some days, but I don't mind cause I want to absorb any and everything I can.

What type of job would you say I have after reading the description I just gave?..and what should be next career move or step? Also, I have my Bachelors in I.T. Management, but no certs just yet.

Comments

• Options
    pinkydapimppinkydapimp Member Posts: 732 ■■■■■□□□□□
    I thought I would be working help desk, but this is definitely not a help desk job. I think it's more networking. I get tickets assigned to me and I have to go out and analyze and evaluate the problems. I actually got the internet up and running again after it went out for a small building.. about 20 people. I do a lot of tracing cables, making ports live and troubleshooting a host of problems. I spend a good amount of time in IDF roons. I'm so busy I don't even have time to take a lunch on some days, but I don't mind cause I want to absorb any and everything I can.

What type of job would you say I have after reading the description I just gave?..and what should be next career move or step? Also, I have my Bachelors in I.T. Management, but no certs just yet.

Congrats. Be happy you are getting that exposure in a help desk role. Many people dont get that opportunity. Learn everything you can. Get some certs. And in a year re-evaluate where you are and where you want to be.
  • Options