Options

Boson & studying for CCNA

prettyby77prettyby77 Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
I read these forums as a lurker, but this is my first post so as to assist anyone else out there studying for the 200-120 CCNA.

I've been a Network Engineer since 2006 working on Cisco equipment through various jobs and I have an 1841/2960/ASA setup at home. I didn't have the need to get my CCNA over the years until my current employer offered to cover costs.

For studying I started with Lammle's book, which was very straightforward. Then moved onto CBT Nuggets, which was awesome for subnetting since that was my Achilles heel initially. After studying those, I felt that my knowledge was solid and that I just needed to get ready for the "test" if you will so I purchased Boson's 200-120 CCNA to get a real world feel of the test and the environment. At the first onset of using Boson, I was scoring around 570-600's. Mind you, I scored easily on Todd's sample questions in his book, thus I was really surprised by my initial scores in Boson. I buttoned up on the Frame Relay questions and sims, while also working on my other weaknesses (which were mainly nuances in the answers, versus not actually knowing the material). Once I figured out all the testing nuances in Boson I was easily scoring 800's randomizing all of the 200-120 CCNA tests in Boson. In addition, I would answer all the questions first without looking at the answers to ensure that I "knew" the material versus just memorizing the answers. Also, I utilized "simulation" mode over "study" mode in Boson once my scores were consistently above 800. I used Boson for 2 straight months and saved well over 15 exams that I scored over 800 but would still go over the wrong answers just to make sure I could shoot for 1000 in the real exam and be cool.