Options

How many % did you actually learned at college?

hell911hell911 Member Posts: 83 ■■■□□□□□□□
I have been wondering, since colleges mix up subjects like english, math, etc. With the actual technical course related subjects...

How many percentage of you actually know right now, is from the learning at institution?

Is it bearly 20%-30%? Or more?

Because i have been hearing from lot of working people, many say they learned a lot while working and self studying at home than college courses.

Comments

• Options
    PristonPriston Member Posts: 999 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I went to community college and that has provided me with a great foundation, about 70% of the classes I took were technical courses. I've been working in the IT field for around 3 years now and most of what I'm learning now is the stuff I didn't pay much attention to in college.

Of course it's a lot more motivating to learn something when you have people relying on you to get the job done. In college no one's relying on you so it's a lot easier to slack off.
    A.A.S. in Networking Technologies
    A+, Network+, CCNA
  • Options
    philz1982philz1982 Member Posts: 978
    I have a Business BS. The only courses I still reference are English, Finance, and Strategic Management. Everything else, not so much.
  • Options
    Cisc0kiddCisc0kidd Member Posts: 250
    A lot of College is learning how to learn and becoming a well rounded individual. It also proves to a company you can set a goal and achieve it while doing tasks that may not be your favorite.
  • Options
    ShdwmageShdwmage Member Posts: 374
    5-10% at most. About the only thing I actually picked up from college was good documentation practices.
    --
    “Hey! Listen!” ~ Navi
    2013: [x] MCTS 70-680
    2014: [x] 22-801 [x] 22-802 [x] CIW Web Foundation Associate
    2015 Goals: [] 70-410
  • Options
    aftereffectoraftereffector Member Posts: 525 ■■■■□□□□□□