What home cable modem router do you recommend

jem7skjem7sk Member Posts: 77 ■■□□□□□□□□
I need a new router for my house. I have brighthouse cable and need it to have four or five LAN ports along with wireless. I have 10 year old Linksys that has suited me well but has been giving my problems. I am studying for MCSE now and plan to go to CCNA after that... just fyi in case that helps

Comments

• tpatt100tpatt100 Member Posts: 2,991 ■■■■■■■■■□
    I bought an Asus RT-N66U almost two years ago and I am still getting regular firmware updates that fix issues as well as add new features.
  • jem7skjem7sk Member Posts: 77 ■■□□□□□□□□
    tpatt100 wrote: »
    I bought an Asus RT-N66U almost two years ago and I am still getting regular firmware updates that fix issues as well as add new features.

In my research that was the one that I almost bought without asking :) Good to hear from someone here that they recommend it.
  • cyberguyprcyberguypr Mod Posts: 6,928 Mod
    I'm running a Nighthawk AC1900. About to hit 6 months with it and zero issues.
  • tpatt100tpatt100 Member Posts: 2,991 ■■■■■■■■■□
    jem7sk wrote: »
    In my research that was the one that I almost bought without asking :) Good to hear from someone here that they recommend it.

Well I am just surprised Asus still supports it, I am so used to vendors pretending like they never made the router after it's been out a year....
  • xnxxnx Member Posts: 464 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Same here, that and the AC66U
    Getting There ...

Lab Equipment: Using Cisco CSRs and 4 Switches currently
  • PristonPriston Member Posts: 999 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I have a Cisco EA4500 (N900) which I'm currently using and it works perfect. I bought a Cisco EA6500 (AC1750) just before Cisco sold linksys, I looked at it for about 2 minutes then put it back in the box. I think it was the web interface on the EA6500 I didn't like, don't remember though.