Wireshark question

--chris----chris-- Member Posts: 1,518 ■■■■■□□□□□
I have found ways to A) locate a bandwidth hog and B) see a breakdown of bandwidth usage by protocol but now i need to tie the two together with some correlation and find the host that is eating up bandwidth with UDP.

Anyone know how to achieve this?

Comments

• Ryuksapple84Ryuksapple84 Member Posts: 183
    Have you looked into videos for wireshark? they are out there. Good luck!

I would also like to see the answer to this.
    Eating humble pie.
  • --chris----chris-- Member Posts: 1,518 ■■■■■□□□□□
    Since I am pretty new to WS, I didn't immediately realize that you can see the source & destination address in the capture...duh! However, I would like to tie the nice graph of protocol/bandwidth utilization and make a graph that display host to protocol to bandwidth utilization. It would make presenting this info to a client much easier (or to a manager, etc...).
  • HeeroHeero Member Posts: 486
    Just FYI, in a typical network you would be doing this with netflow. Netflow fits your use-case perfectly without actually having to capture/store all wire data. As for how to do this in wireshark, I don't think I know more than you about this specific use case.
    Heero wrote: »
    Just FYI, in a typical network you would be doing this with netflow. Netflow fits your use-case perfectly without actually having to capture/store all wire data. As for how to do this in wireshark, I don't think I know more than you about this specific use case.

Wow didn't even know that existed. Thanks for the post.
  • jvrlopezjvrlopez Member Posts: 913 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Statistics > Summary
    Statistics > Conversations > UDP tab

You can then probably hand jam them into a spreadsheet or chart after. Not sure if you can output via WS automatically.