Options

New job offer, but questions about job role

GGrillGGrill Member Posts: 16 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello TE, I've been lurking on this forums for a few months and learned tons of information on what I should do in the IT career field. I currently work as a jr. analyst for a small IT security auditing company doing mostly reviewing findings from interviews other analyst complete and writing system security plans and plan of action milestones.

Been here for about a two years now and while I was lucky to find this position coming straight from the help desk, I don't want to focus on writing as an all day job. So I've been looking at system administrator openings because the MCSA topics interest me

The job offer is for a Windows system administrator position which involves taking tier 2 tickets such as software installs, pc refresh, hardware ect. But the position also involves some WSUS monitoring and patching for workstations on the network as well as securing tap back ups for the servers. The benefits are that it pays about 5K more than my current role and gives me the title. It's for a government contractotor and it seems like most people there stay in thier positions for years, so it's unlikely I will be able to move up or over to Linux admin if I wanted to.

To me it sounds like a high level desktop support position and I'm on the fence because I don't want to move back in that direction (it was my previous role before the jr. analyst role). Any advise from the more experienced TE members here? Should I continue interviewing and hold out or take it anyway?

Comments

• Options
    KronesKrones Member Posts: 164