Community college graduation frustration

Howdy all im in a strange situation or so i think and will try and keep this as short as i can. But i am looking for some advice on how to deal/approach this.

I graduated in june from Community college. The same week my gradnfather died (important for later).

Fast forward to now. I still do not have my diploma. It is confirmed i did graduate and meet the grad requirements. The only response i ever get from the college about this is they are still printing diplomas. Is this normal?

The school sent me a debt letter. Citing that i owe them 253 bucks for unspecified things in fall 2012 and 2013. This of itself seems odd because i cant register for classes if i owe money. So how is it i can suddenlu owe.

I have called the school 3 times in regards. Iam unable to go there in person because all of my time off is going to be used toward transporting my grandfathers ashes to thailand in january.

In none of these 3 calls or letters has anyone given me a clear answer as to why i owe money. The first time i was told i dropped classes and was overpaid for grants. The 2nd time i was told that i was "overcharged" for grants. And the 3rd time i was told i would have to speak with a Martha about this but "Martha no longer wants to take these calls so i cannot be transferred to her.

The school has given me 30 days to pay this or else my name will be forwarded to collections.

Has anyone encountered this after graduating? It seems rather odd to me.

Comments

• lsud00dlsud00d Member Posts: 1,571
    First off, sorry to hear about your grandfather.

Does your school provide a fee bill online? This should detail whatever you owe.

If someone is in charge of this and they refuse to service you, go above them and email their boss, their bosses boss, etc. There's no excuse for poor customer service.
  • chronos42chronos42 Member Posts: 91 ■■□□□□□□□□