Hello All - Just wanted to drop by and say hi to everyone!

keatronkeatron Member Posts: 1,213 ■■■■■■□□□□
Hello Techexams family. Just wanted to drop by and say hello and maybe encourage some of you who are just coming into this field.

I guess it was about 2003 or 2004 when I joined here or at least started to look around. I had some experience but zero certifications.

Shortly after I started studying for A+ Net+ Security+ and some of the MCSE exams using exclusively the resources on this site. And I do mean exclusively. After passing all those exams I started to focus a little more on the security certs since that was my area of expertise and practice. But just know that gaining the knowledge I gained obtaining the Microsoft certs, and Cisco certs tremendously helped me accelerate my position in the security community as I had practical knowledge and hands on with most of the technologies that existed out there. In other words I wasn't just a paper cert person, but for some technologies, I WAS A PAPER CERT PERSON FIRST, AND BASED ON THAT CERT I WAS ALLOWED TO BE IN THE POSITION TO GROW PAST JUST HAVING THE PAPER. I all caps that for a reason. It's easy for us to sit back and say to others, "if you just have the paper without the skills, it means nothing". This is 100% not true. Don't ever look at a cert that's of interest to you and say "well it's pointless for me to bother with it, because I don't have hands on". I agree, hands on AND paper together is more valuable, but this hardly means the cert alone is useless. That's only the case if you don't use it to your advantage.