Options

Is a degree really required to climb the ladder?

jonwinterburnjonwinterburn Member Posts: 161 ■■■■□□□□□□
Hi all.

Here's a question for you. I have 15 years' experience in IT, with several in InfoSec. I hold SSCP and am studying for CISSP, and I currently work as an InfoSec analyst, mid-level. I aim to study for CISA once I have CISSP.

However, I have no degree at all (my poor upbringing). At my current level, that's not an issue. Skills and certs are more valuable to me right now. But what about in the next 5-6 years? I want to progress to director level, and am rapidly getting the impression that the lack of a BSc or MSc in Comp Sci or similar will prevent me from getting into a directorship role - despite my experience, hard work and vendor certs.

As I have a family to support, I cannot afford to study for a degree part time. Studying online for a BSc from Penn State (highly reputed) is around $66k. Even a BSc from the Open University in my home country (UK) is £15k.

So - is it worth getting into debt and dedicating all my spare time for 6 years into getting a BSc, then further years & money to get MSc? Will I hit the glass ceiling in career advancement without a degree?

Any suggestions welcome.

Thanks,

Jon

Comments

• Options
    CyberfiSecurityCyberfiSecurity Member Posts: 184
    Hi Jon,