"A mile wide, an inch deep"

ISSxPISSxP Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi all,

I've stumbled across this forum from time to time when googling CISSP and CISSP concentrations, and wanted to share my two cents on the exams and certifications.

I am now CISSP-ISSAP,ISSEP,ISSMP, as well as some other certifications.

I took the CISSP exam quite a few years ago, when it was still a paper exam. I read the official CBK cover to cover, made notes, answered around 2000 practice questions, and then took the exam. Back then I didn't find the exam so difficult, passed it with flying colors in my first and only attempt, and attributed it to how well I studied and how brilliant I was. I must say that I enjoyed the experience, especially studying - I absolutely loved reading the CBK, I think it puts it all together very eloquently and clearly.

A few years later I started noticing the CISSP devaluation. I kept hearing criticism about how the exam is "a mile wide and an inch deep", and started to realize that holding that certification is not that great, especially after working with quite a few CISSPs who were anything but professional.

I then decided to throw a little test myself and convinced a friend who knows nothing about security and only the basics of IT (he's a mechanical engineer) to take a mock CISSP exam of 100 randomly selected practice questions. My friend got the 70% score very easily with just common sense. That was proof to me that the CISSP exam doesn't worth much.

I decided to go for the concentrations, both because I really enjoyed studying for the CISSP exam and because I was after relocation and hoped it would help me distinguish myself from the rest.