Options

Not sure what to do.

C.FountainC.Fountain Member Posts: 28 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey everyone!
So I'm currently a college student, but I'm thinking of dropping to part-time status and looking for a job. I currently have Associate's degrees in Network Technology and Information Systems Security, and I'm working on my Bachelor's in Information Assurance. I'm also starting to work on getting my A+, Net+, and Sec+ certs. Most likely, I'll start with some type of help desk position for a year or two while I finish school.

The problem is, I don't know what I want to do, in terms of a career. I love security, which is why I'm getting the BS:IA, but I also love the idea of working as a sys admin, net admin, or in cloud computing. A few other IA students have the sole plan of entering the NSA and spending their entire careers there, but I don't know if that's for me. I want to work for the NSA or DoD, but I don't know if that's all I ever want to do. I know I have time to jump into a few different fields and see what I like, I'm only 22. But I don't want to spend a bunch of time switching jobs just to experiment.

So what do you guys think I should do? I really don't know where to go from here. I know that I love being in the pit, working on systems and solving problems. I don't want to be in a management position where I just go to meetings/barely touch a system. I have this picture of what I want to be at some point in my life. I would love to be one of the people that sets up entirely new networks/buildings for new businesses/business branches. Kind of an all-around, go-to guy. But I don't have the experience for that, and its a long way away.

So what should I do in the mean time?
Thanks!

Comments

• Options
    arrogantbastardarrogantbastard Member Posts: 61 ■■□□□□□□□□