Options

Ten years out of IT...trying to get back in

techaddtechadd Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Ten years ago I finished a diploma program at a private tech/business school, and during that time I obtained my A+ and Network+ certifications. (I also obtained my MCP six months later). For the next two years I did everything I could to find experience in my field, mostly without success as around that time there was a recession and an oversaturation of IT personnel. In 2006, I moved to a different part of the country and got a job driving a truck which ended up paying quite decent...for a while. In the eight years that followed I got my commercial driver's licence, and tried my hand at being an apprentice at a trade, but for some reason neither of those careers really fit me, and I eventually left both.

Earlier this year I got a truck driving courier-type job that allowed me to get into shape and improve my customer service skills and that also happened to have an adequate pay. The best part about the job is that it allowed me to do some real networking with IT professionals, and it reignited my interest in IT once more. Best of all I found that a couple of these companies were looking for people. There was/is just two problems....1)my resume is 10 years out of date and I have no idea on how to redo it, and 2) my skillset in and of itself is ancient by tech standards and I know I have quite a bit of catching up to do.