Options

I was a Bio Major, looking for change

Mudkip16Mudkip16 Member Posts: 16 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hi everyone!

i got my bachelor's in Biology because at first, I wanted to pursue a pharmaceutical path. However, after working as a pharm tech for a few years, I realized I didn't wanna do this anymore, and now I am sincerely wanting to go into the field of info security.

I have been studying for the CISSP for a whole month now, but I'm starting to question whether simply passing is enough to get a job. I really don't have the time or money to go back to school to get another degree.

So my questions are A) is passing the CISSP enough to get me a job, even an entry level security job? B) what else can I do to allow employers in this field to hire me?

please lend me your wisdom!

Comments

• Options
    jdancerjdancer Member Posts: 482 ■■■■□□□□□□
    In any new field, everyone starts at bottom and work their way up.

Since you already have a bachelor's, your choice of getting a cert is a good way to go. Now you need to get your foot in the door in InfoSec.
  • Options
    ajs1976ajs1976 Member Posts: 1,945 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Mudkip16,

The CISSP requires documented experience and an endorsement from another CISSP. If you pass the exam without that, you will be an Associate of ISC2 (or an Associate of CISSP i'm not sure which is the correct title) but you will not be a CISSP. There is enough demand in InfoSec right now, that it might get you an Infosec job. Leverage your experience in healthcare to learn more about and gain more experience related to HIPAA and privacy issues.

If the CISSP overwhelms you look into the CompTIA Security+.
    Andy

2020 Goals: 0 of 2 courses complete, 0 of 2 exams complete
  • Options
    pinkydapimppinkydapimp Member Posts: 732 ■■■■■□□□□□
    like AJS said the CISSP requires you have a few years of experience to get the credential.