Advice for preparing to support Blue Coat

stamosstamos Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi

I'm a junior system admin with little network/security experience, however my employer has purchased a couple ProxySG and PS devices I am now expected to support. Other than their own training and certification which I'm already going through, is there any other particular knowledge I should be familiarizing myself with in order to effectively support this technology?

ps. long time lurk, appreciate all the information shared here!

Comments

• JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,023 Admin
    Are you looking for how to troubleshoot and maintain the systems or how to administratively use them to monitor and restrict users? Make sure you understand how to contact your tech support (Cadre) and open trouble tickets.

Will you also be using Blue Coat Reporter for analyzing your proxy logs? Did you also buyProxyAV servers for A/V scanning/blocking of in-transit traffic?
  • stamosstamos Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
    I had to check with my boss. They have purchased ProxySG, ProxyAV and PacketShaper. They are being deployed by someone else so I will not be involved in the initial setup, but I will be responsible for future changes and all troubleshooting.

The course covers most of the internal workings, I am just looking for any related knowledge I should be picking up to get on top of these products. For instance I know it can output to Wireshark for troubleshooting and configuration use so I'm working on understanding that application. I was also thinking about brushing up on networking fundamentals, routing, etc.

I see there is a lot of negativity about Blue Coat's products in certain circles so I would like to be proactive about getting it down and not let it turn into a problem for me.
  • tprice5tprice5 Member Posts: 770
    stamos wrote: »