Options

Timeline for putting in notice for a new job with background check

Danielm7Danielm7 Member Posts: 2,310 ■■■■■■■■□□
So, I got a call today from my recruiter that a company I've been interviewing with wants me there, salary is negotiated, etc. I've only worked at companies in the past that didn't do a background check. Note, my background is spotless, drug test is no problem at all, but just having never done one I have this nervous feeling about when people say they've done them and gotten mistaken results, it's silly I know as I don't even drink coffee, but a fear nevertheless.

The question is, do you typically put in your 2 weeks after signing with the company AFTER doing the checks, or wait until that is all done then know that it's a go and put in your notice?

Thanks.

Comments

• Options
    I'd let your future employer know that you're available to start 2 weeks after your background check clears (this is typically what I do with a clearance crossover 'my availability is crossover plus two weeks'). I'd approach a generic background check the same way.
  • Options
    TomkoTechTomkoTech Member Posts: 438
    You need to wait until AFTER the background check is done. Anything could happen in between and they can rescind their offer.
  • Options
    Dieg0MDieg0M Member Posts: 861
    Usually they wont let you sign untill after your background checks are done. Once you have signed an offer it is very hard for them to rescind their offer.
    Follow my CCDE journey at www.routingnull0.com
  • Options
    TomkoTechTomkoTech Member Posts: 438