Options

Questions about getting into Information Security...

itstudent10itstudent10 Member Posts: 7 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi everyone, I've been following the forum for a while now and wanted to post a couple of questions that I've had on my mind lately on a career in information security but no one really to ask (I know this one gets asked a lot as I've done the research ahead of time). I'm not sure if this is the right forum to post in either as I noticed the certifications forum also but seeing as this is career related, here I am.

In regards to my background, I'm a recent college graduate with a degree in Comp Sci and worked over a year as a junior level sys admin. I'm interested in system security, which probably sounds broad, but for instance I enjoy patching Linux servers and getting rid of vulnerabilities. I would say this is the most exciting part of my job at the moment and would like to move into infosec and learn more. My comp sci degree wasn't too heavy on security, with only one class on cryptography and auditing, but I want to get more into it now.

Recently, I saw that Coursera was offering a specialization certificate in Cybersecurity from the University of Maryland and I was wondering - would it be a good idea to go for it? (Considering the cost for 4 courses and the capstone project- $250) Or should I just take the courses for free and go for more industry recognized certs (A+, Network+, Security+ ?). I know it seems like a no brainer perhaps but I wanted to make sure ahead of time before deciding on it.

And also, how can a system administrator transition into information security? Is there anything that I can do on my end that will help me get into the field? I've read about setting up a lab and I currently have an old desktop laying in the corner that I can load up a Linux distribution on and harden, but what else can I do? Are the recommendations from sites like stackoverflow enough?