Options

Help Desk Tier 1 Interview

MattyIceVAMattyIceVA Member Posts: 46 ■■□□□□□□□□
I have an interview next week for a Tier 1 Help Desk position. I have no professional IT experience but in the process of working on my A+ certification. I am curious as to what types of things I should know for the interview. I sure there will be some technical questions asked and just want to make sure that I am prepared. Thanks in advance for your help.

Comments

• Options
    MeanDrunkR2D2MeanDrunkR2D2 Member Posts: 899 ■■■■■□□□□□
    Mostly, be personable and if you have any customer service and phone skills, make sure you highlight that. In a tier 1 helpdesk position, technical skills aren't as big as the communication part. Of course, keep studying for your A+ and use what you know and have learned in your studies. Be enthusiastic about the position and how you are able to learn new technology quickly.

Good Luck!
  • Options
    TomkoTechTomkoTech Member Posts: 438
    The technical questions are going to be random. There really is no way to prepare for those. What you can prepare for are the general questions which usually revolve around stress/customer service. For example "Tell me about a time where you had an extremely difficult client/customer. How did you handle that situation?" And the always asked questions like "What are your greatest strengths/weaknesses?"

Just use google and look through listed interview questions commonly asked. Prepare yourself to answer those types of questions as they relate to you and your background.
  • Options
    Thank you guys for the info. I will plan on emphasizing my past customer service experience and hope my A+ training so far will be sufficient. Thanks again!
  • Options