Starting at an MSP (nervous, excited, feeling clueless)

manifest3rmanifest3r Member Posts: 14 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey TE! I recently got a gig over at an MSP, I start in about a week, and I'm freaking out!

I've been in IT for only 3 years. The MSP I'm going to work for did some contract work with my present employer. They said I stood out, saying I was the only one who could give a straight answer.

In the past year I've been told 3 times from SysAdmins with years of experience that I've got a knack for IT, and I'm really good at it.

I guess I feel like I'm not that good at it. I've never setup a DC or Exchange server from scratch. I've setup a small VM from the ground up, I've setup MDT/WDS to reimage machines, and sure I can configure a Cisco iOS router to make it fully functional and make it do what I want (vlans, port forwarding, etc).

I feel like I've touched a few different pieces of technology, but I still don't KNOW the technology in depth. The MSP that hired me knows this, and they wanted to hire someone with a broader skillset they can help teach.

I've done my fair share of googling about MSP's (for better or for worse) and I definitely feel intimidated about the types of technologies I will be dealing with. I've honestly been looking forward to working for an MSP for the past year, and now that I have my opportunity, I'm afraid of screwing up. I can honestly say I've never felt this way about a job before. Yes, I'm excited, but I'm nervous at the same time. I don't know if my abilities are up to par, but I am damn sure I'm going to try my best!

My interviewer thought I had more than 3 years of experience in IT considering the range of technology I had covered, he was surprised.

Has anyone had similar experiences?

Comments

• undomielundomiel Member Posts: 2,818