Stuck on where to go from here...any advice will be helpful!

bhankins000bhankins000 Member Posts: 15 ■□□□□□□□□□
Looking for some advice on where I should take my next step in my career and a bit stuck...

Background: I started as a help desk technician 8 years ago. I did helpdesk work for a year and a half (6 months for a company and a year as a gov't contractor) and then joined the Army as IT. After spending 4 years in the Army I didn't really do much except I taught basic networking and security+ to DoD and re-imaged machines. (Not sure how good I was at teaching and I did love it - everyone said I was really good but I doubted my own knowledge). Other than that I studied many, many months, mostly reading Shon Harris AO1 book, for the CISSP but was never sure on taking the exam. Honestly, I'm scared of that exam! (I didnt know 'what' I wanted to do.) I flipped over to studying a little for CASP, then SSCP and MSCE but realized I had very little experience in any of this other than what I did years ago on the helpdesk. I dont want a paper-weight for a certification. I got out of the Army, and currently taking classes at community college but its mostly gen-ed classes and a couple programming classes - thought I try that but dont like programming. I currently work for a company as an Security Admin and it pays really well but it's boring. My title is fancy but really I just do account management (create accounts, delete accounts, etc) and not really much security. I guess you could consider is some form of access control management on the software side but that's a stretch. I fear trying to get another security related position that this experience really wont do me much good as its a dead-end. I currently hold Network+ (expired), Security+ (grandfathered from years ago so no CE), HBSS 4.0 Admin (just took the class and the test in the army but no hands on exp.)