Does your employer pay for your certification tests?

2»

Comments

• The Silent AssassinThe Silent Assassin Member Posts: 39 ■■□□□□□□□□
    My employer will pay for the first attempt of a certification, if you fail they will not pay for the exam again which is fair imo. Some would say that if you pay out of pocket with no reimbursement it could provide motivation to pass.
  • 210mike210mike Member Posts: 55 ■■□□□□□□□□
    My company will reimburse me for training books, courses, and successfully passed tests.
    WGU BS: IT Network and Design Management (Completed Oct 2014)
  • GoodBishopGoodBishop Member Posts: 359 ■■■■□□□□□□
    My employer reimburses me for materials and the test.
  • E Double UE Double U Member Posts: 2,228 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Current and previous employer paid for training and reimbursed for books and exams (only when I pass). When I worked as a contractor I did not have any paid training and took care of books/exams out of pocket.

Its nice that my boss, the CISO, has CISSP, CISA, and GCIH because he encourages me to also get those certs. I didn't know anything about SANS training until he brought it to my attention :D
    Alphabet soup from (ISC)2, ISACA, GIAC, EC-Council, Microsoft, ITIL, Cisco, Scrum, CompTIA, AWS
  • daviddwsdaviddws Member Posts: 303 ■■■□□□□□□□
    My company pays for them IF you pass. Unfortunately they do not pay for certification classes but if they did I would be all over it.
  • RomBUSRomBUS Member Posts: 699 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Nope not since my first IT job. And I was only reimbursed if I passed. All other costs such as study material (besides the licensed Transcender we had) was all out of pocket.
  • joelsfoodjoelsfood Member Posts: 1,027 ■■■■■■□□□□
    As an aside, thanks for starting this thread, as it finally prompted me to finish filling out all the paperwork for the two reimbursements (JNCIA and VCA) that I've had sitting in expense report system waiting on paperwork. :)