Options

Need advice on emplyment

I have my CCNA. The places I went to for entry level networking jobs. They turn me down cause I have no experience. Then I had an idea. What if I offer to volunteer for like maybe 2 weeks and they can see how I do for the 2 weeks and if they like me they might hire me, if they don't like me, I just move on.

What do you guys think?
Currently reading Network Warrior

Comments

• Options
    StonedHitmanStonedHitman Member Posts: 120
    How would I be a liability?
  • Options
    tprice5tprice5 Member Posts: 770
    Technically:
    You don't know the network and you have zero incentive to be careful. Being inexperienced, you are prone to more mistakes than a veteran. Not being on the payroll, there is no consequence or fear of loss to make you second guess your keystrokes.

Legally:
    If you tripped and fell in the break room. If there were a fire in the building and something happened to you. Insurance? I don't work in HR or in a law firm so I don't know the implications of having someone working there who is not an employee.

If some shop was really hurting for people and you proved yourself in the interview to be reliable, then maybe. But if I was making the call I would not allow you access to my network. No offense, and it has nothing to do with your technical ability, I just can't see the benefit of having an untrained, unpaid intern in my office for 2 weeks. If I truly thought you would be valuable to my team then I would hire you on a 3 month probationary period (which I hear is pretty standard) WITH pay. If you think a hiring manager is considering the positive impact on his budget based on savings from 2 weeks salary from an entry level network engineer ($1000?) then I think you are mistaken. Hiring managers are tasked with building good teams, not pinching pennies.