Options

Need some feedback

dtdellboydtdellboy Member Posts: 9 ■□□□□□□□□□
Morning All,
I need some feedback on my next steps in study planning. I have been working in Networking for over 10+ years and that's my main strength. However i have been gradually moving on to projects that both involve networking and server/networking virtualization. The most recent project i completed was on Openstack where i was able to go to Redhat classes and i will be taking the Redhat Openstack administration exam pretty soon. I have a new projects lined up for Microsoft Azure/Hyper-V as well as more Opensatck work that i will start working from the new year.

Now i do not plan to stay with my current employer for long. I would like to get some feedback on what skills (or certs) will add more value to networking experience i have ? I have been out of the job market for over 10 years and not quite sure if Openstack/RHCE will add more value vs Microsoft MCSE. I have multiple CCIEs and VCP , and not so much worried about getting the certs but more on learning skills that i can use day to day.

I know my situation is very specific and may not have a direct answer. I am not sure if there any roles that require someone to know both networking and Linux/Windows at the same time. Nevertheless i thought i would ask anyways.

Comments

• Options
    Jon_CiscoJon_Cisco Member Posts: 1,772 ■■■■■■■■□□
    It is a strange situation for sure. Is any of your networking knowledge current or did you remove yourself from the industry before the internet and current networks were developed?

I have no advice for your next path but using your previous experience you should be able to determine what interests you. I would start their and browse the job boards to see what skills are in demand.

Good Luck!
  • Options
    dtdellboydtdellboy Member Posts: 9 ■□□□□□□□□□