Options

Does Someone in Information Technology work only 40 hours ( no on-call, weekends off)

Bchen22Bchen22 Banned Posts: 58 ■■□□□□□□□□
Holidays off. If so what job is this?

Comments

• Options
    networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    Sure plenty of roles in technology like that. I work hardly 40 hours a week and no on call. I'm a network architect.

In my experience, as far as infrastructure work goes, the lower level and higher level jobs tend to have less of the long hours and on call. When you are low level there really is no reason to call you in. You don't know jack! When you are working high level design there is usually a team of operators/admins to deal with the break/fix and on call that goes along with it. That mid level team is usually where the grueling hours of sitting on calls all night fixing stuff, implementing large changes etc. come in.

You also have plenty other areas of IT outside of infrastructure work. Development, policy, etc. that can come without the on call duties.
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
  • Options
    lsud00dlsud00d Member Posts: 1,571
    Bchen22, as a new user I feel you should be informed as to not start multiple threads on the same general topic.

http://www.techexams.net/forums/jobs-degrees/105306-feel-maybe-im-just-not-cut-out.html

That said, plenty of people do the straight 40hrs/wk. As a contractor/consultant on salary, I typically have no financial incentive to work over the budgeted hours in the pay period. Sure, sometimes it happens if you're closing out a project, or for other various reasons, but typically if I work a 10-12 hour day (instead of icon_cool.gif, I will take a short day and balance out the pay period.
  • Options
    cyberguyprcyberguypr Mod Posts: 6,928 Mod