Options

Inbound or Outbound?

mwillmwill Member Posts: 51 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi all,

I'm currently studying for my CCNA and would like some help if one could give.

I'm confused with access-list's. The part i'm confused on is: When to apply an ACL on an inbound interface or outbound interface. I always want to put it on an inbound inteface to restirct traffic from comming into the router to begin with so it would stop the waste of CPU cycles.

However from reading and studying they put most on outbound interfaces and not inbound or vice versa. I cant seem to find anywhere that gives me enough information on when or why to place an ACL on outbound or inbound!

Can somone help me clear this up before the big day?

Thanks in advance,
mwill
Marcus Williamson

Comments

• Options
    GogousaGogousa Member Posts: 68 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Everything depends on what ACL are you using and what do you want to achieve. Standard ACL can only filter on source IP, but on Extended ACL you can filter by many parameters, like source or destination IP, PORT, etc.
    If you understand this, imagine you are a packet traveling through the cable and you bring with you information like source IP and destination IP, you are getting into the router and you find the interface (if someone applies and outbound ACL your are not going to be checked by this ACL), but if someone puts and Inbound interface you are going to be checked by this. The key to understand where to apply the ACL is to understand what information is bringing the packet that you are trying to block.
    By general rule you apply Standard ACL as close to the destination as possible, because can only filter on source address, so if you apply a Standard ACL close to the source every packet that is trying to go out is going to match the ACL and be dropped.