Options

Newbie Here

TacoGuyTacoGuy Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
So first off my name is Cody I am 20, I have been interested in IT ever since I was probably 10 playing the pinball game on my mothers old computer and messing with any files and systems in the control panel. I am now a commercial low voltage Technician, I build networks ( cabling) I build IDFs and MDFs from 24 port patch panel to thousands of cables and cabinets in an NOC. I run and terminate horizontal and backbone cabling cat6, CCTV, fusion spice fiber optic and anaerobic, security, AV installs, cameras, DAS antenna systems... I do all the hardwork for you IT Engineers lol. So I feel like I have strong background in the IT area. I am currently attending school to obtain my AAS in Networking Technology and my CCNA. Though doing 50+ credits and working 40-50 hour work week every week makes the AAS hard to finish, and I find my self very stressed and don't have enough time to finish my classes. I took my first cisco class CNT140 and passed with %92, that was my priority. So now im here to ask you guys, is there anyone else who was in the same spot and ended up not getting an AAS and just going straight for a CCNA? Is there any disadvantages of not getting my AAS?

Also I am interested in doing many other certs, but I have NO IDEA where to start or what certs I should try to get, please point me in the right direction! I am wanting to be a Network admin or Engineer

Thank you,
Cody

Comments

• Options
    I am contemplating moving from Arizona to Texas in the next year so if anyone knows of a good school in texas to obtain my BS in IT that information would be appreciated.
  • Options
    gelgel Member Posts: 8 ■□□□□□□□□□
    I would take into consideration WGU. It is an online only school that many on here have used. I myself am working on starting there early next year. Very affordable but the class structure does not seem to be for everyone.
  • Options
    gel wrote: »