Options

CCNA R&S and CBT Nuggets

albealbe Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi All,

I am studying for CCNA R&S Certification with the help of CBT Nuggets material, which I really enjoy.
I have also started playing with Cisco Packet Tracer and I wanted to ask anybody of you who has studied with the same material some kind suggestions or clarifications.
At the moment I have only few questions but I'm sure that many more will come.

Currently I am watching the course named "Cisco R&S Troubleshooting Mastery" (Sequeira - Barker) and what I would like to know why some of the commands they use for switch configuration are not recognized when I test them.

For example when they show how to set an EtherChannel Bundle they show a command to default all the interfaces so they enter

SW-1#conf t

and this is ok, and then they do

SW-1(config)#default int range fa 0/1-6

and with this I get the following error on Packet Tracer, though I have the same infrastructure they presented

Invalid input detected at '^' marker (the marker is under the e of default)

It is like the default command is not recognized in my case. There no syntax error in the interfaces because I can select them correctly and shut them down with

int range fa 0/1-6
shutdown

I am wondering if this specific command is related to a specific version of Cisco IOS or to some specific switches (for my test I am using 2960).

Comments

• Options
    markulousmarkulous Member Posts: 2,394 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I'm a little confused as to why the default command would be needed there. When selecting a range of interfaces to configure, int range fa 0/1-6 should work fine.
  • Options
    Jon_CiscoJon_Cisco Member Posts: 1,772 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Welcome to the forums.

I don't know what the default represents either. I don't think I have used that at all.
    Keep in mind that Packet Tracer is a simulator not an emulator. It does not have all of the commands that are available on the real IOS.
  • Options