Options

If you work temp-to-perm. Do you get a raise when you get hired on permanent?

mxmaniacmxmaniac Member Posts: 49 ■■□□□□□□□□
I had a recruiter call me today about a temp-to-perm position. Supposedly it would have been 3 months temp, and then possibly hired on permanent. (unfortunately it turns out I'm not qualified since I have no active directory experience).

Anyways, the hourly wage the recruiter quoted would have put me on a slightly negative income. I'm wondering if its typical to get a raise, once you get hired on permanent. Like once the recruiter is out of the picture, do they typically raise your wage up to what they were paying the temp agency, giving you a big bump, or do they try to keep you at the same amount.

Reason I ask, is so I can know if I should take a job like this in the future. I could work on a negative income for a few months if needed, if I was quite sure a raise was coming.

Comments

• Options
    markulousmarkulous Member Posts: 2,394 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Probably depends on the business. The job I work at did that when I got hired on full-time, but I know of other places that don't give a raise.

I wouldn't ask the recruiter. Those guys are full of it a lot of times and have no clue what happens after the person gets hired on full-time. Ask the company in the interview.
  • Options
    MeanDrunkR2D2MeanDrunkR2D2 Member Posts: 899 ■■■■■□□□□□