Options

Web dev to system admin - career advice

creativeusernamecreativeusername Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey guys,

I would love some career advice. I'm currently a web developer with about 5 years experience, but I would love to transition into a system admin role. My question is, would that possible? I know the typical route is something along the lines of helpdesk/desktop support to system admin but I'm sure how doable that is for me. The actual work wouldn't bother me but the salary is too low (already have a family).

Although I'm a currently a dev, I do have experience managing Linux/Windows servers, virtualization (not necessarily enterprise level), I feel comfortable using the command line/terminal/server management with ssh, vagrant and chef, and writing small bash scripts. For example, I wrote a script that will take a vanilla installation of Ubuntu and set up a complete web server environment running a wordpress site. I know that's pretty basic but I think it does show some initiative. I'm also currently a manager of a small team so I do, in my opinion, have pretty good soft skills from the management experience and dealing directly with clients.

I don't have any certs yet but I do plan on building a home lab soon and getting a CCNA and possibly RHCSA. I know certs don't offer near as much value as actual hands on experience (that's what the home lab is for) but I heard they do look good on a resume and can help with hr.

In saying all of that, does it seem likely that I could find a system admin job after picking up the CCNA?

Comments

• Options
    No thoughts on this?
  • Options
    lsud00dlsud00d Member Posts: 1,571