Options

Applied For A Job As IT Team Leader

si20si20 Member Posts: 543 ■■■■■□□□□□
I started working in IT at the age of 16 as an apprentice. I worked my way up and i'm now aged 25, with a degree in digital forensics and I work as a security analyst. I've just put in an application for a job as an IT Team Leader. They require a degree and ITIL cert. I've not got ITIL but I understand the concepts of it and I have told them that I intend to study it further and take the exam soon.

Judging by the certs i've listed on my profile and the OSCP i'm currently doing, do you thing I have a chance? I'm kinda worried about them throwing it out because i'm probably too young and haven't had much (any) management experience? I just figured that it'd be a really nice way for me to progress, as ultimately, I would like to become an IT Manager, partly because my own experience with IT Managers hasn't been good, so I wish to change that and be one of the exceptions.

Comments

• Options
    TechGuru80TechGuru80 Member Posts: 1,539 ■■■■■■□□□□
    Have you done things that show leadership? That is a huge part of becoming a manager.
  • Options
    networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    Sure you might have a chance, but really depends on what the people interviewing are looking for so hard to say. Most lead positions do not require prior management experience in my experience.
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
  • Options
    cyberguyprcyberguypr Mod Posts: 6,928 Mod
    Do you have a job description you can share? That may help paint a better picture.
  • Options
    TechGuru80 wrote: »
    Have you done things that show leadership? That is a huge part of becoming a manager.

Yes in terms of University. I was a team leader for a group of 4 (5 including myself) and I virtually orchestrated the entire project and got us a First class degree.