Remote Work in IT Security

frizfriz Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
I have a concern about heading down the IT Security path long-term. I'm just starting out (in IT Security; I've been in IT generally speaking for years), and I've come to realize that this path seems to typically require some pretty heavy travel and at the very least, full time spent in an office.

I'm currently working remotely, though it is a lower-paying position, so I'll be looking to move on in a few months. The concern I have is that I live in a smaller city that doesn't have an immense need for IT professionals like you'd find in the bigger cities, and I have a wife and kids, so I don't want to start traveling for business full time. We'd rather not move, so I was wondering what you guys think: is there a way (long-term, through certifications and finding the right company) to find a well-paying, 100% remote position in network admin/security and/or server hardening? Would it be better to look into virtualization jobs considering my situation? Is it just not possible?

Thanks for your time.

Comments

• techfiendtechfiend Member Posts: 1,481 ■■■■□□□□□□