Options

Beginner advice

ArticxArticx Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
I'm currently a student in college trying to get into the IT field. I'll be able to graduate from my community college next fall. After this fall I'll be able to get the a+ cert. Right now I currently work in a plastics company and make about 13$ an hour but it's night shift and they are 12 hour shifts. My concern is trying to get some experience in the field. I don't know exactly what Field I want to branch I to because I love a lot about computers but I do have experience with writing code and security peaks my interest. With me graduating soon I want experience and if I have to take a pay cut that's fine because I know experience is more important in the long run. So my question is where do I start, what are some good basic entry jobs or what should I be looking for while trying to find basic jobs? Any help would be appreciated this is my first post I got motivated today after seeing my little brother graduate the marine corp and it made me want to have a plan. Sorry my thoughts and grammar are bad I'm on my iphone

Comments

• Options
    jamesleecolemanjamesleecoleman Member Posts: 1,899 ■■■■■□□□□□
    There are different ways to go. I've listed some below.
    -Computer repair shop
    -Internet Service Provider (small and local)
    -Check the job posting for IT jobs for the company that you work for
    -Volunteer with the IT department at the company you work for
    -Part time volunteer work at a small organization

Check Job Search | one search. all jobs. Indeed.com

You are also welcome to post your resume so we can help with that too.
    Booya!!
    WIP : | CISSP [2018] | CISA [2018] | CAPM [2018] | eCPPT [2018] | CRISC [2019] | TORFL (TRKI) B1 | Learning: | Russian | Farsi |
    *****You can fail a test a bunch of times but what matters is that if you fail to give up or not*****
  • Options
    VAHokie56VAHokie56 Member Posts: 783