ccna job /career

snadeemsnadeem Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi guys
I have done my electrical engg and recently i came to know about networking . I am thinking about getting in networking .Is it a good career option . And what is scope of ccna . which industries do i need to apply for starting my career in networking .
Do i need apply at internet services providers ?

Thanks

Comments

• Alex90Alex90 Member Posts: 289
    Hi mate,

I'd say that networking and the various related tracks are a good career choice. Normally CCENT/CCNA is where most people start and this would be a great building block for somebody with no industry experience. Be realistic about what jobs you can get with just a CCNA and no experience - maybe start looking for helpdesk type jobs or possibly junior NOC type roles.

Bare in mind that certification alone isn't a ticket to a great job, you need the experience to match as well. I have been working in a voice/data networking role for nearly 4 years and I have only just completed my CCENT and will soon be taking the CCNA.

I don't work for an ISP so I can't say but I'd say it's unlikely they would take you on as a network engineer if you just had a CCNA with no experience. Like I say start small and get the certs, get an entry level job to build experience and move on when you outgrow the role.

Also find out what interests you with regard to networking - it could be R&S, voice, data centre, service provider etc... When you find something that really excites you give it your all!

There's a lot of experience on this site so any questions just ask.

Good luck bud!
  • snadeemsnadeem Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
    thx Alex for advice
  • Disgruntled3lfDisgruntled3lf Member Posts: 77 ■■■□□□□□□□