New Career - What Certs For Beginner, No Work Experience- UK.

Hello and sorry in advance as I am sure this has been asked many times before but the info I am reading is not really helping my personal situation and decision.

I am male, nearly 39, live in the UK. I used to work in the fitness industry but had to stop due to injury. I have always been around computers since a young age and enjoy working with them but never followed it into a career, now I would like to. More hands on with hardware and stuff, so networks etc, rather than spending day after day administrating group policies and answering questions all day on the phone!! I am pretty computer literate, i do not programme or code.

I am doing my A+ exams next week but I am getting rather confused what I should do next???
Original plan was Network+, but I keep reading that CompTIA is really just a rip off with very over priced exams and that maybe I should just skip it and work on CCNA instead?
Also now I have been seeing that maybe having Security+ would look good and help get that first network admin job along with A+ and Network+?

I am not currently working so need to get some certs to put on my CV and get and that first job sooner rather than later and then work on the harder, more time consuming certs once I am working and earning. I know it would be to my advantage to get some MS certs also in the future and I would be looking at MCSA Server Infrastructure 2012 to work at, but right now, what path should I be looking to take....???

More CompTIA - Network+ & Security+?
Skip Comptia and get CCNA as quickly as possible? Also is a small Cisco set-up of about 4 or 5 units needed/a good idea for CCNA?
None of the above and move onto getting the MCSA?

Really could use some feedback and advice with this.. I do not have loads of spare cash for loads of exams and I really need to get some certs and get and position asap.

Thanks a lot.
Stewart.

Comments