ENTRY LEVEL Securities

romeo1808romeo1808 Member Posts: 83 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hey guys, i've just started my path into securities and was wondering what certifications would be handy for entry level, who has no experience. I'm taking my Comptia Network + exam in a couple days, and I'm moving onto Comptia Security +, also my post grad is a program at my local college in Information security Management. What would be another good certification that would be beneficial to get into the market, with 0 experience. Thank you so much for your help in advance.

Comments

• broli720broli720 Member Posts: 394 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Do a quick search on the forums. There are plenty of threads with this info to get you started. Good luck!
  • romeo1808romeo1808 Member Posts: 83 ■■□□□□□□□□
  • sferg410sferg410 Member Posts: 129
    I am not an expert, in the same place as you and in the UK. I am doing my A+ which is bought and paid for and was going to do the same as you with network+ and security+ but after some research and posting on here I have changed my mind. CompTIA it appears is seriously over-rated and very seriously over-priced.
    Instead I am going to go straight onto Cisco CCNA (CCNET first) that way I will learn about as much as the network+ without wasting my time and money studying specifically for it when it is not really regarded that highly by employers. I will however study a network+ textbook/videos to fill any general gaps.
    Same goes for security, upon gaining a CCNA I will study for the one extra exam to get CCNA Security as well as CCNA R/S and again will take a look at security+ textbook etc.
    This way I feel I will be a lot better trained sooner and more employable. IMO skip the CompTIA stuff, just over-priced and not worth the cost.