first IT job?

jonatron5jonatron5 Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Ok here's my situation. Im in second year college informations system buissness orientation major.

Right now im working at macdonalds to help pay for school. And I gotta say the work sucks the hours suck and the pay sucks. My friends and I where talking and I've decided im going to try to get my first full time it job this summer working the helpdesk or tech support. One of the main reasons im intrested is I heard that the places im looking at pay IT workers 30 grand a year starting and while this isn't alot by anyones standards its more than double what I earn at MacDonalds right now.

My first question: is whether that pay grade is inflated or if it sounds on target to you guys?

So after talking with my classmates I decided to get certified becuase at the very leadt it looks good on a resume. I checked there requirements and they only require security + so thats what I got. They did say they like to have network+ and A+ however.

So as a 19 year old college kid will I be cut any slack for only having the required certificate? Becuase if I understand correctly a+ is basic computer knowledge that anyone with any other cert ought to be able to do?

The companies im lookimg at do have programs for college students in the tech field like me but my grades arnt that stellar right now. I just swapped over from premedical.

My next question is, as my money is tight right now before summer gets here I will probb only be able to afford to take one more cert. Should I go with the A+ or the network+?

Comments

• tcosictcosic Member Posts: 13 ■□□□□□□□□□
    I would go for the CCENT and then CCNA instead.. They are worth more in my opinion, which will lead to more job opportunities.
  • rgagnon_gamerrgagnon_gamer Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
    was lucky to land my first IT job via a regular customer at the coffee shop I used to work at.
  • fcp4lifefcp4life Member Posts: 35 ■■□□□□□□□□