Options

Getting a job in CCNA

andrewfxandrewfx Member Posts: 8 ■■■□□□□□□□
I'm looking to get into the IT industry and a job as a network admin so am going to be studying to take my CCNA exam but I'm worried that because I don't have a degree I won't get a job. Is this the case? Would employers expect me to have a a degree? I don't have any job experience in IT apart from my current job where I'm a field technician for a triple play provider fitting and servicing tv broadband and telephone.

Comments

• Options
    markulousmarkulous Member Posts: 2,394 ■■■■■■■■□□
    You don't have to have a degree to get your first IT job. I definitely would recommend getting one, but getting some certs and some experience is a good start. Just don't expect to be paid a ton of money out the gate even with a CCNA. You ultimately get paid for your experience.
  • Options
    tuleeohtuleeoh Member Posts: 78 ■■□□□□□□□□
    The answer to your question depends. Some companies require that you have a degree, others don't. I'd start applying for entry level positions and see if you can land a job. I do recommend that you also broaden you skills a little beyond just the CCNA, such as learning MS Server and AD. I just graduated with a B.A and recently finished my CCNA and I'm still finding a little difficult to meet all the requirements for some network admin positions out there because most require that you know a little bit about everything. Good luck!
  • Options
    mikeybinecmikeybinec Member Posts: 484 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I have a degree. I have an entry level cert and will get the full CCNA when I get around to it. I can tell you right now in my regional area there are no f ing jobs and I am disillusioned and disappointed. People say "Oh look, the stock market is at 18000!". The economy SUCKS and since this is a non political website, I'll leave it at that.
    Cisco NetAcad Cuyamaca College
    A.S. LAN Management 2010 Grossmont College
    B.S. I.T. Management 2013 National University