Whats the oldest piece of software in your environment?

Fulcrum45Fulcrum45 Member Posts: 621 ■■■■■□□□□□
We typically look at the age of hardware in most environments before anything else- and it makes sense. Things get old and they break. Same typically applies to software and somehow, through some miracle of God, we have software that keeps on chugging. What's the oldest software you have in your environment- or the oldest "in production" software you've witnessed? We have a particular piece of software that's 15 years old. It crashes here and there but in general works well. I joke that it's almost old enough to drive.

Comments

• BerkshireHerdBerkshireHerd Member Posts: 185
    I work in banking, many of the critical piece of software that run the systems are old. Cant say age exactly, some of these software suites are way to valuable to try to upgrade due to risk of critical failure
    Identity & Access Manager // B.A - Marshall University 2005
  • tripleatriplea Member Posts: 190 ■■■■□□□□□□
    We sadly have an access2 system that is still very live and used daily.

SAD!
  • JoJoCal19JoJoCal19 Mod Posts: 2,835 Mod
    Incredibly we have a production server running Server 2000 icon_surprised.gif. And our InfoSec team seems to have no pull to force the upgrade. Amazing.
    Have: CISSP, CISM, CISA, CRISC, eJPT, GCIA, GSEC, CCSP, CCSK, AWS CSAA, AWS CCP, OCI Foundations Associate, ITIL-F, MS Cyber Security - USF, BSBA - UF, MSISA - WGU
    Currently Working On: Python, OSCP Prep
    Next Up:​ OSCP
    Studying:​ Code Academy (Python), Bash Scripting, Virtual Hacking Lab Coursework
  • MTciscoguyMTciscoguy Member Posts: 552
    JoJoCal19 wrote: »
    Incredibly we have a production server running Server 2000 icon_surprised.gif. And our InfoSec team seems to have no pull to force the upgrade. Amazing.