Options

Struggling in my studies, frustrated

vordul_megavordul_mega Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello everyone!

I'll start this with some pedigree info. I'm a community college student pursuing an associates degree with a focus on IT. I've only taken one class this semester (my first class) and it centers around basic hardware and software fundamentals. Before the class, I didn't know what a heatsink was. I have very limited knowledge and understand regarding computing.

The class was too easy, though. Exams and labs were multiple choice, all featuring extra credit (except for the final), and basically felt like my instructor was trying to make sure we all passed. I never once felt challenged, and that is a problem. I made a 98-105 on each exam (he always offered two 2.5 point extra credit questions) and finished his 50 question tests in about 6-10 minutes each time.

So I decided that I am probably going to learn all of it on my own, which is discouraging. I own Jean Andrews "Guide to Managing and Maintaining Your PC" and Mike Meyers "All-in-One" book. They are great resources, but I am just finding all of the information to be overwhelming. I feel as though I am being given puzzle pieces but I don't know how to create the whole picture, just pieces here and there.

My main problem stems from multiple issues. Information retention, comprehension, and not knowing what exactly is crucial information and what is just something that will not show up on the test or effect me in my career.
Like, do I need to know every throughput speed of the outdated PIO and DMA modes? Do I need to know the details of every RAID configuration even though some of them are obsolete or simply not needed?