Is this a step back?

My ultimate goal is CISO or director equivalent of a fairly large organization.

I am currently an Information Systems Security Manager (ISSM) for the Defense sector and deal with mostly policies and program management.

I received a job offer from the NSA in a technical role and I am wondering if this will help or hinder my ability to eventually get into a CISO role eventually in the civilian sector.

What are your thoughts?

Comments

• lsud00dlsud00d Member Posts: 1,571
    I would scrub the 3 letter acronym...chances are they already know you're here icon_twisted.gif

CISO's typically have advanced degrees and from what I've found of C-level execs...if they have any technical experience at all (CIO, CTO, CSO/CISO) it's typically early on in their careers. But, it never hurts to have an alphabet soup of government agencies on your resume and if you have a technical lean then your underlings will be much more supportive IMO.
  • 5502george5502george Member Posts: 264
    Lol, why would I scrub the acronym? It is not a secret...

I will be attending a master’s program in Jan (MBA), I just don’t want to take a step back in the scheme of things going into a tech role.

Although the name might help on a resume, I already work for an agency with high accolades so I am torn.
  • N2ITN2IT Inactive Imported Users Posts: 7,483 ■■■■■■■■■■
    lsud00d wrote: »
    I would scrub the 3 letter acronym...chances are they already know you're here icon_twisted.gif

CISO's typically have advanced degrees and from what I've found of C-level execs...if they have any technical experience at all (CIO, CTO, CSO/CISO) it's typically early on in their careers. But, it never hurts to have an alphabet soup of government agencies on your resume and if you have a technical lean then your underlings will be much more supportive IMO.