Options

CompTIA Career Pathways and Me

HorizonThiefHorizonThief Member Posts: 29 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello all,I'm looking for a little guidance in my certificate journey. I currently work as a student employee for a community college. I mostly monitor the primary computer lab (read: do HW), but I also help my boss implement software installation and updates, setup or reimage computers, minor troubleshooting, and swap out parts. Not glamorous but I have good rapport with the faculty and staff.

]I started working on a degree in Networking this last semester after moving away from an Art degree. Now I’d like to start on a couple certificates. I’m hoping to work myself into a job at the college in the in IT department following a similar path that my boss took to get his job here (Student Employee, Internship, and finally Permanent).

]My boss has his A+ and MCSE certs, but I’m thinking it would be better to grab a few others. I’m currently looking at earning these in the order listed:
  • CompTIA A+
  • MCSE: Desktop Infrastructure
  • CCNA
  • CompTIA Security+

Does that look like a solid cert foundation?

CompTIA has a cert pathway located here: CompTIA Career Pathways

They recommend:
  • CompTIA Healthcare Technician
  • ITIL Foundation
  • HDI Desktop Support Technician
  • HDI Support Center Analyst
  • Microsoft Technology Associate: IT Infrastructure Track
So, I'm not sure what would be the best pathway to follow.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,

-HorizonThief.
(In Progress)
Accomplished:
COLOR=#008000][B]100% Done[/B][/COLOR Comptia A+, Comptia N+, Comptia Sec+, AS: CIS (Networking Concentration)
Goals for 2017: B][COLOR=#ff0000]0% Done[/COLOR][/B Cisco CCENT, B][COLOR=#ff0000]0% Done[/COLOR][/B Cisco CCNA: R&S B][COLOR=#ff0000]0% Done[/COLOR][/B B.S. IT Security

Comments

• Options
    srabieesrabiee Member Posts: 1,231 ■■■■■■■■□□