Options

which qualification to become a computer programmer?

p-coderp-coder Member Posts: 21 ■■■□□□□□□□
I have a bachelor's degree in Linguistics, and I am interested in becoming qualified as a computer programmer especially in areas related to language. One option that I have is to go back to school for an additional degree. Would it be necessary to get a bachelor's degree in computer science or are there other options available such as getting certifications or an associate's degree?

Comments

• Options
    bhcs2014bhcs2014 Member Posts: 103
    The ability to code is the first qualification. I have friends who have no degree and are successful developers.

Only time you will need the piece of paper is if the company policy requires it. And your current bach might even meet that requirement! If you have the ability to self-teach I'd do that.

Some good advice I have seen is to start up a portfolio. Write programs and show them to potential employers so they know what you can do. Do freelance work on the cheap.
  • Options
    XavorXavor Member Posts: 161
    Pick a core language and write code, no degree required.

If you look at job posts they'll have common requirements such as understanding software design lifecycle methodologies, debugging, use of github or other code management tools, etc.

You can take courses online for free, or your local community college, and focus on a few select classes to augment your current degree. Just tell future employers you did x, and transitioned to y as a career change. If you can make a valid case they'll pick you up, but you'll be starting at the bottom as an entry level / intern.

If you can sit down and write an application in a staple language that interacts with a database you'll find employment.
  • Options