Options

Can't find any openings to apply to. Looking in the wrong place?

mxmaniacmxmaniac Member Posts: 49 ■■□□□□□□□□
I've been having a very tough time with my job search. I am new to the IT field, with just an A+ and Net+ cert, but have lots of other semi-related job experience like customer service, electrician, and cable guy. I've had my resume critiqued and have been told its good based on what little experience I have.

The problem I face right now is I seem to have run out of places to even apply, or else I'm looking in the wrong spots. I just can't find any entry level opportunities.

I've been searching craigslist, indeed, linkedin, and other sites and applying to whatever positions I'm even remotely qualified for. Right now there simply aren't any more entry level listings I haven't already applied to. Positions that require less than 1-2 years experience seem very rare. Running out of entry level options, sometimes I apply to ones I'm not quite qualified for, but try to sell myself with the cover letter and basically tell them I realize I'm not quite qualified for this position, but that I'd make a great employee and have great potential if they have any more entry level positions.

I'm working with multiple recruiters. I've cold called many companies in the area. I've searched local company websites, but they never seem to post any entry level jobs, or at least I never find any posted that don't want multiple years experience and higher experience than I have. I've been trying my very best to network, I've gone out of my way and met lots of people I wouldn't have otherwise met, but none had any job leads.

I'm basically out of ideas now and sitting here at a road block. Don't even know where to send my resume next because I've already applied to anything I could find. Am I doing something wrong in my search?

Comments

• Options
    snunez889snunez889 Member Posts: 238 ■■■□□□□□□□