Options

Certification Instructor

VeritiesVerities Member Posts: 1,162
I've been toying with the idea of eventually becoming a certification instructor, to make some money on the side. Does anyone who is currently working or has worked as a cert instructor, have any advice for someone aspiring to do this type of work on the side? Is the extra pay worth it? Do you like or hate being an instructor and why?? I'm thinking of going to CompTIA route initially since they're clearly the largest cash cow, especially with the DoD 8570 wheeling and dealing...

Comments

• Options
    Bump. Are there really no instructors around here?
  • Options
    wd40wd40 Member Posts: 1,017 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I was an instructor 10 years ago, teaching MS Office and A+

I really liked it but the pay was not good so I moved.

2 Things about being a teacher in general:

1: either you know how to teach or you do not, and students can tell the difference.

2: as my old boss told me, to be able to teach
    <" this ">
    you need to know
    <" .......... this .......... ">
    Just knowing the course content is not enough, you need to know much more to be able to answer students questions that are somehow related to the core course content.

and one last thing, a good teacher likes students that ask questions more than quite students.

good luck.
  • Options
    jdancerjdancer Member Posts: 482 ■■■■□□□□□□
    If you plan to teach in a degree granting institution (doesn't matter if it's public/private or non-profit/profit), it's all regulated by a higher education authority. In some states, they require you have a master's degree, in others just a bachelor's/associate's. I am currently a Cisco Network Academy instructor and my state requires it's instructors to have a master's degree. Of course, I teach other IT subjects.