Options

Career path advice

ScottK89ScottK89 Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi all,

I'm more or less just starting my career in IT after years of being a PC enthusiast (building custom PCs for friends and family, doing basic troubleshooting and things like virus removal, etc). I've been mostly self-taught, but after some recent life experiences I've decided to go back to school and get my career on track. So I'm currently in school and also working in a help desk doing mostly software troubleshooting (but also using Active Directory, Exchange console, RDP, new PC builds using images...basic help desk stuff).

I'm currently towards the end of my Net+ class in school after completing the A+ courses and the Win7 course - my Net+ final is next Monday. Because of my background and my job, school has been easy for me thus far and I've kept a 4.0 GPA with little effort. I'm currently trying to figure out which precise path I'd like to take with my IT career. Fortunately, school will prepare me for the CCNA as well as the Server+ cert, which gives me options going forward, but I also recognize that these certs will have limited weight behind them for higher-level jobs.

I'm torn between the MS and Cisco cert paths. I'm thinking of heading more towards Cisco, but I do like the server environment and networking is the one area that I don't have much experience with (though my Net+ class has been relatively easy for me thus far, aside from memorizing the various network speed types and the physical infrastructure each requires - 100base-T, etc). So I'm looking for some guidance from professionals in the field. Which career path makes the most sense going forward?

Thanks in advance for any input!

Comments

• Options
    iBrokeITiBrokeIT Member Posts: 1,318 ■■■■■■■■■□
    ScottK89 wrote: »
    Which career path makes the most sense going forward?

This is a question of preference so which ever one you enjoy working in the most.