Options

Question for studying for CCNA exam

chaje10chaje10 Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi Cisco Techs,

I am currently studying for the CCNA exam. I have a few questions regarding the CCNA exam.

1) Is it better to take one exam or 2 exams for CCNA?
2)What kind of Cisco Simulator should I download for studying. I like to connect multiple routers and switches and test out the Cisco commands.
3) Is there any good sites with Cisco exam practice question? In the past, there is braindump for Microsoft Exam. Any other good sites for studying?
4) Is it worth to get some low end router (cisco 2500) for studying?

Comments

• Options
    clarsonclarson Member Posts: 903 ■■■■□□□□□□
    No, it is better to avoid the 2500 series of routers. If you get a 2514 that has maxed out memory and two transcievers for free, that isn't so bad. But, anything else your going to have buy more memory to load a version of 12.3 ios, which is two revisions behind what the test is written for. And, will need to purchase transceivers just to have a 10mb ethernet connect. You won't be able to nat/pat, interVlan routering (router on a stick), or any ipv6. You will be a lot better off using packet tracer or saving your money to purchase a 2600xm or better router.
  • Options
    markulousmarkulous Member Posts: 2,394 ■■■■■■■■□□
    1. It's easier to study for each exam separately since questions vary between each one.

2. I recommend Packet Tracer. That is what helped me quite a bit pass both ICND 1 and 2.

3. I am not sure of any free practice exams. I used subnetting.net for their subnetting questions as well they have some practice questions that is related to ICND1.
  • Options
    mikeybinecmikeybinec Member Posts: 484 ■■■□□□□□□□