Introduction / Career Advice

JohnLJohnL Member Posts: 62 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hello everyone,

First off let me introduce myself, my name is John and I am fairly new to the IT field. I have always had an interest and messed with computers but never truly pursued it. I started taking computer classes when I started college back in 2001 and then I took a Cobol course and I said nevermind. I then finished with a Business Degree with a specialization in Finance in 2007. After many years I discovered that I didn't care for business. I then enrolled in a local community college studying Computer Networking and Systems Administration where I received many academic awards and finished school with a 4.0. I ended up with an Associates degree from that school. I have since gotten a job as an application analyst and have been in that position for about a year. I have gotten my A+ cert and am taking the Network+ cert on Tuesday.

I know where I want to go and that is where I ask for some advice on my next steps. I want to eventually end up investigating cyber crime / digital forensics. I have looked into the masters program at WGU in Information Assurance but after speaking with a enrollment counselor he suggested that I go after the bachelors in IT security first. I don't quite qualify since I don't have any CCNA or higher certs yet. My question is should I go ahead and go after the bachelors and then the masters? I feel I could benefit from some of the courses in that program and I should be able to transfer in a lot of credits. I also planned on taking the CCENT and Security+ within the next three months. Any suggestions or guidance would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
John
B.B.A. in Finance - 2007
A.A.S. in Computer Networking & System Administration - 2014
M.S. Information Security and Assurance - 2016
CompTIA A+, Network+, Security+, CEH, CHFI, CCNA: Routing & Switching
Working on CISSP

Comments

• lsud00dlsud00d Member Posts: 1,571
    JohnL wrote: »