Options

Studying Many Topics At Once

the_Grinchthe_Grinch Member Posts: 4,165 ■■■■■■■■■■
How do you go about studying multiple topics at one time? In my case they are all security related and mainly dealing with SOC operations, but I tend to like to concentrate on one topic at a time, but at this point I can't do that anymore. Hoping for some tips!
WIP:
PHP
Kotlin
Intro to Discrete Math
Programming Languages
Work stuff

Comments

• Options
    KragsterKragster Member Posts: 44 ■■□□□□□□□□
    This is something I'm struggling with too, especially since I'm studying for CCNA and use Avaya and Palo Alto at work. One of the things that's helped me a little is a routine to really separate the two. I don't go right home from work and then start studying, I sit down watch something I have DVR'd or read a fiction book or something for an hour. This has helped clear out lingering stuff from the work day.

I am trying to come up with a something distinct I can start doing before studying or messing with my test lab to try to reinforce it in my subconscious that it's time to change my thinking space. Like Pavlov without the bell. Haven't come up with anything yet though. And still find myself using avaya(nortel) commands sometimes when doing my cisco labs.

I'd be very interested to hear others suggestions.
  • Options
    ccnxjrccnxjr Member Posts: 304 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Discipline!
    Time and goals wise.
    Of course, it helps if you have *some* stability, ie, you can set aside fixed times to not be disturbed.
    Either lunch breaks, after work, or the ungodly hours before the rest of your house wakes up.

Personally I need at least 2 solid hours to dig into a problem or topic .
    If your doing this on your own you don't have the luxury of someone feeding you material from a lesson plan.
    (Reading material & relevant practical excercises).