The whole thing with Computer Science degrees?

Bchen22Bchen22 Banned Posts: 58 ■■□□□□□□□□
Whats up with this degree its like so asked everywhere but can't just someone who just wants to be a programmer just take an internship would it really matter what tech degree you have?
Lets say I have a Bachelors of Arts in Computer Technology and Im either trying to be a programmer but if I did computer science isnt it the same thing?
As long as you have a degree?
I ask cuz everyone nowadays to me was like
you should have gone instead to computer science instead
your more valuable with that degree
why didn't you you go with computer science?
I ask cuz i dont really see the big deal why computer science and not CIS? i mean if you seen computer science curriculum you need to take calculus discrete math and physics which is why i switch my major to computer technology why do you need that to do a help desk desktop support or even a programming job?
When I went to college my goal was to be a IT Field Service Technician for a government agency in some places you actually need a bachelors degree to do that in public schools and universities

Comments

• iBrokeITiBrokeIT Member Posts: 1,318 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Being a GOOD programmer/software developer in professional business environment takes more than just learning the syntax of a programming language, writing code and compiling it.

Comp Sci traditionally teaches things like logical program solving, a few languages and the SDLC. The abstract thinking and theory parts of Computer Science are just as important as knowing the architecture of a system.

If you cant follow the logic of a Calc problem how are you going to follow the logic in a 1000+ line program?
    If you never learned the SDLC, a lot of programming theory and other industry knowledge why should a software development company hire you as a programmer over someone who has learned those things?