Need some guidance / suggestions. Have some questions here

JasionoJasiono Member Posts: 896 ■■■■□□□□□□
Hey everyone

I have some questions and I am seeking some guidance / suggestions.

A little background information about me (the important stuff):

I have a degree in computer networking.
I have multiple certs, but the one that is most relevant to this post is my security+ one.

I currently work as a software tester. Lately I have been getting into testing the security of the software (gaining access to portions of the software I shouldn't have access to, password expiry, etc.).

I have taken a huge interest in becoming a pen tester, mainly black box. It's something that has always fascinated me but I was always afraid to pick up a book on it.

Questions

Is there anything I should know, any programming language, networking knowledge, security knowledge, that I need before I dive into an ethical hacking book? I guess my question is, are there any prerequisites to opening up an ethical hacking book and learning what it's all about?

What can I learn before I pick one up to make myself well rounded in the field of hacking?

That's all I have for now.

My posts are lengthy I know

TL;DR

Are there any prerequisites before picking up ethical hacking material(s) and learning how to be a pen tester?

Comments

• JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,023 Admin
    There is nothing to prevent you from reading ethical hacking material regardless of your background. I would suggest looking at ethical hacking books and Web sites and discovering what you already know and what you don't. There are many different and diverse areas of ethical hacking (e.g., network pen testing, social engineering, Malware analysis); discover the areas that interest you the most and start filling in your knowledge from there.
  • lsud00dlsud00d Member Posts: 1,571
    Just jump in, we all float down here icon_twisted.gif
  • JasionoJasiono Member Posts: 896 ■■■■□□□□□□